Contact

VR experience – virtual tour of Hekatron's fire testing laboratory creates confidence

Hekatron Brandschutz

850 employees

Company in the family-run Swiss Securitas Group / Special field: plant and equipment fire prevention

Duration of project: 13.6. – 27.7.2018

Results at a glance

Development of a VR application for a virtual tour of the Hekatron Brandschutz fire testing laboratory including useful additional information for visitors to the site in Sulzburg, using Samsung Gear VR glasses

Use of the VR application at trade fairs

360° application for browser-based presentation of the fire prevention tour on the Hekatron Brandschutz website via desktop, the Viond web VR player or App for mobile devices (iOS, Android)

Easy to remember knowledge transfer and creation of confidence through realistic VR presentation of the Hekatron Brandschutz fire testing laboratory

360° experience on Hekatron’s website: https://www.hekatron-brandschutz.de/unternehmen/erprobungslabor-fuer-brandmelderapplikationen-elba/

“In our modern fire testing laboratory in Sulzburg, we are continually working on innovative solutions that will in the future make fire prevention better, safer, more Hekatronic. Using VR applications, interested parties can now explore our fire testing laboratory as though they were actually there, and find all the information they need. This creates confidence. This is immensely important, particularly for safety-related products. The competence of the Feynsinn experts impressed us, and the VR experience filled us with enthusiasm. On top of that, the direct personal contact is also good. Far from being given the feeling that we were just another customer, we received personal, individual attention.” – Oliver Conrad – Leiter Corporate Communication at Hekatron

Task

Development of a virtual tour of Hekatron’s fire prevention/fire testing laboratory including fade-ins of additional information, such as videos about different types of fire, interesting facts about the testing area, products, technology room and the laboratory’s history. Initial operation of the VR application was scheduled for the staff summer party attended by 2,500 guests. The VR application is also intended for use at trade fairs, and the virtual tour is to be shown as a 360° video on the website.

Challenge, approach and aim

Legal requirements meant that groups of no more than 8 visitors could previously be shown around the fire testing laboratory at Hekatron Brandschutz. The company was anticipating a flood of visitors at the summer party in 2018. Realistic information was to be provided by a newly created VR experience, to give as many people as possible the chance to see the fire testing laboratory. In order to find out more about the required contents and then be able to create them, Feynsinn first held a workshop based on the design thinking method with the customer. First of all, VR experience targets, requirements, questions frequently asked by visitors to the fire testing laboratory and additional useful information were collected, and then categorised into different subjects. The next stage involved collecting and categorising the necessary graphic materials in the desired quality. Following this, the virtual tour was developed using the VIOND software.To ensure a perfect virtual experience, we also organised the necessary hardware (high-grade VR glasses and the latest smartphones) for Hekatron Brandschutz, and answered visitors’ questions concerning VR technology at the summer party in 2018. The visitors were so impressed by the virtual experience that Hekatron Brandschutz decided to use the virtual fire testing laboratory tour for further marketing purposes, for instance at trade fairs and in the 360° presentation on the company’s website. To this end, the Feynsinn team converted the VR application into a browser-based 360° experience, enabling Hekatron Brandschutz to maximise the reach of the action.

Kontakt

VR-Experience – virtueller Rundgang im Hekatron Brandlabor schafft Vertrauen

Hekatron Brandschutz

850 Mitarbeiter

Unternehmen der familiengeführten Schweizer Securitas Gruppe / Spezialgebiet: anlagentechnischer Brandschutz

Projektlaufzeit: 13.06. – 27.07.2018

Ergebnisse im Überblick

  • Entwicklung einer VR-Anwendung für einen virtuellen Rundgang im Hekatron Brandschutz Brandlabor inkl. wissenswerter Zusatzinformationen für Besucher am Standort in Sulzburg unter Verwendung der VR-Brille Samsung Gear VR
  • Einsatz der VR-Anwendung auf Messen
  • 360°-Applikation zur browserbasierten Darstellung des Brandlabor-Rundgangs auf der Hekatron Brandschutz Website über Desktop, über den Viond Web-VR-Player oder App für mobile Endgeräte (iOS, Android)
  • Einprägsame Wissensvermittlung und Schaffung von Vertrauen durch realitätsnahe VR-Darstellung des Hekatron Brandschutz Brandlabors
  • 360°-Erlebnis Website Hekatron: https://www.hekatron-brandschutz.de/unternehmen/erprobungslabor-fuer-brandmelderapplikationen-elba/

„In unserem modernen Brandlabor in Sulzburg arbeiten wir kontinuierlich an innovativen Lösungen, um Brandschutz zukünftig noch besser, noch sicherer, noch hekatronischer zu machen. Per VR-Anwendungen können Interessenten unser Brandlabor nun lebensecht erkunden und sich umfassend informieren. Das schafft Vertrauen. Insbesondere für Produkte, die der Sicherheit dienen, ist dies von immenser Bedeutung .Die Kompetenz der Feynsinn-Experten hat uns überzeugt, wir sind von der VR-Experience begeistert. Obendrein stimmt auch der persönliche, direkte Kontakt. Wir haben uns nicht wie irgendein Kunde gefühlt, sondern persönlich und individuell betreut.“ – Oliver Conrad – Leiter Unternehmenskommunikation Hekatron

Aufgabe

Entwicklung eines virtuellen Rundgangs im Hekatron Brandschutz Brandlabor inklusive Einblendung von Zusatzinformationen, wie Videos über Brandarten, Wissenswertes über den Versuchsraum, die Produkte, den Technikraum und die Historie zum Brandlabor. Die VRAnwendung sollte erstmals auf dem Mitarbeiter-Sommerfest mit über 2.500 Besuchern eingesetzt werden. Darüber hinaus soll die VR-Anwendung auf Messen verwendet und der virtuelle Rundgang als 360°-Grad-Video auf der Website dargestellt werden.

Herausforderung, Herangehensweise und Ziel

Hekatron Brandschutz hat bisher Besucherführungen im Brandlabor durch rechtliche Vorgaben mit maximal 8 Personen durchgeführt. Für das geplante Sommerfest 2018 erwartete das Unternehmen einen Besucheransturm. Um möglichst vielen Interessenten Einblicke in das Brandlabor zu ermöglichen, sollte ein neu geschaffenes VR-Erlebnis realitätsnahe Informationen transportieren. Um die erforderlichen Inhalte kennenzulernen und kreativ gestalten zu können, haben wir von Feynsinn zunächst einen an die Design-Thinking-Methode angelehnten Workshop mit dem Auftraggeber durchgeführt. Hier wurden die Ziele der VR-Experience, Anforderungen und häufig gestellte Fragen der Brandlabor-Besucher sowie zusätzliche Nutzen stiftende Informationen aufgenommen und themenorientiert zugeordnet. Im nächsten Schritt wurde das benötigte Bildmaterial in der benötigten Qualität aufgenommen und zugeordnet. Unter Verwendung der Software von VIOND wurde anschließend die virtuelle Besichtigung entwickelt. Für ein einwandfreies virtuelles Erlebnis haben wir zudem die benötigte Hardware (hochwertige VR-Brillen sowie neueste Smartphones) für Hekatron Brandschutz organisiert und am Sommerfest 2018 Fragen der Besucher zur VR-Technik beantwortet. Die Sommerfest-Besucher zeigten sich beeindruckt vom virtuellen Erlebnis. Hekatron Brandschutz hat daher entschieden, den virtuellen Brandlabor-Rundgang zu weiteren Marketingzwecken einzusetzen, wie der Nutzung auf Messen und 360°-Darstellung auf der Unternehmenswebsite. Zu diesem Zweck hat das Feynsinn-Team die VR-Anwendung in ein browserbasiertes 360°-Erlebnis konvertiert. Somit kann Hekatron Brandschutz die Reichweite der Aktion maximieren.